HCA Gulf Coast
March 15, 2023

HCA Healthcare Gulf Coast Division today announced that fifteen units have earned the 2022 HCA Healthcare Unit of Distinction (UOD) Awards, an annual program that recognizes and rewards exemplary nursing units at HCA Healthcare sites of care. The Unit of Distinction designation is achieved through measurable, exemplary performance in the strategic areas of advocacy and leadership, consistency in nursing practice and operations and leveraging scale to improve patient care.

The fifteen HCA Healthcare Gulf Coast Division Units of Distinction Awards winners are:

Critical Care

Unit of Distinction – Top Ranking Unit

  • HCA Houston Healthcare Clear Lake, CVICU (Webster, Texas)

Unit of Distinction recipient

  • Rio Grande Regional Hospital, Special Care Unit (McAllen, Texas)

Unit of Distinction honorees

  • HCA Houston Healthcare Clear Lake, Critical Care Unit (Webster, Texas)
  • HCA Houston Healthcare Northwest, Surgical Intensive Care Unit (Houston, Texas)

Freestanding Emergency Room

Unit of Distinction honorees

  • ER 24/7 Rockport, an affiliate of Corpus Christi Medical Center (Rockport, Texas)
    • HCA Houston ER 24/7 – Fairmont, a department of HCA Houston Healthcare Southeast (Pasadena, Texas)

Medical Surgical

Unit of Distinction recipients

  • Corpus Christi Medical Center, 3 East (Corpus Christi, Texas)
  • Texas Orthopedic Hospital, Patient Care Unit (Houston, Texas)

Unit of Distinction honorees  

  • Corpus Christi Medical Center, 2 North (Corpus Christi, Texas)
  • Valley Regional Medical Center, 3 Central (Brownsville, Texas) 

Perinatal Services

Unit of Distinction recipient

  • HCA Houston Healthcare Northwest, Mother Baby Unit (Houston, Texas)

Unit of Distinction honorees 

  • HCA Houston Healthcare Northwest, Labor and Delivery (Houston, Texas)
  • HCA Houston Healthcare Southeast, Postpartum (Pasadena, Texas)
  • Rio Grande Regional Hospital, Postpartum (McAllen, Texas)

Surgical Services / Post Surgery Services

Unit of Distinction honoree

  • HCA Houston Healthcare Pearland, Recovery Unit (Pearland, Texas)

Launched in 2015, the Unit of Distinction Awards are an essential component of HCA Healthcare’s strategic nursing plan. With more than 2,300 sites of care, HCA Healthcare’s more than 93,000 nurses have abundant opportunities to choose work across a wide spectrum of clinical and non-clinical settings. HCA Healthcare supports and invests in nursing with leading-edge technologies and increased access to clinical education and professional development opportunities to help make HCA Healthcare a premier career destination for nurses.

“Each year we look forward to celebrating the selfless individuals who continually show up for our patients across the country,” said Sammie Mosier, DHA, MA, BSN, NE-BC, senior vice president and chief nurse executive of HCA Healthcare. “The Unit of Distinction program celebrates HCA Healthcare’s many exemplary nursing units and raises our standard of nursing excellence every year. Congratulations to this year’s winners.”

In a ceremony broadcast from HCA Healthcare’s headquarters in Nashville, Tennessee on Tuesday, March 7, 2023, a total of 204 nursing units were recognized as top-performing nursing units. Units of Distinction are categorized in the top five percent of all HCA Healthcare medical surgical, critical care, emergency services, surgical services, behavioral health, women’s and children’s nursing units, pediatrics/PICU and inpatient rehabilitation units. The top six to ten percent of all HCA Healthcare units earned honorable mention designations.

“I am extremely proud of these nursing units and the talented leaders and colleagues who dedicate themselves to delivering superior, patient-centered care,” said Kelli Nations, DBA, MHA, BSN, RN, NE-BC, chief nurse executive of HCA Healthcare Gulf Coast Division. “Their teamwork exemplifies how a commitment to collaboration and evidence-based practices results in measurable, higher-quality care and better outcomes for patients.”